Hand Made: The Modern Woman’s Guide to Made-from-Scratch Living by Melissa K. Norris

cover120283-mediumHand Made: The Modern Woman’s Guide to Made-from-Scratch Living by Melissa K. Norris is a beautiful book. The book is part memoir and part cook book. The book looks at ways to make things homemade and the wisdom of the Depression era that can help make recipes simpler.

I enjoyed this book because the author shares recipes that had been handed down to her. The recipes were easy and adaptable. There were some good tips on growing herbs and suggestions for kitchen organization. The book also contains recipes for making soap and candles.

I highly recommend this book for those that enjoy making things from scratch or want to learn to do it more often. Melissa Norris includes personal stories and some scripture in some parts of the book that I enjoyed reading as well.

I received this book from Harvest House Publishers via NetGalley.

About awindowintobooks

I'm many things. I'm a writer, reader, wife, sister, and daughter. But most of all I'm a citizen of the world.
This entry was posted in book review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.