The Pho Cookbook by Andrea Nguyen

30220569The Pho Cookbook by Andrea Nguyen is an in-depth introduction to pho and its history. The book is split into six sections Pho Manual, Master Pho, Adventurous Pho, Pho Add-ons, Stir-fried, Pan-fried pho and Deep-fried Pho and Pho Sidekicks. Each section is includes high quality photographs that show both food and life in Vietnam.

An excellent book, both from the point of view of the approach and extensive documentation, as well as a sample of quality food writing. Beyond the useful directions and details about how to prepare the traditional Pho, and the meals to match with, the reader is also offered anthropological observations about the history of this meal and other insider information based on frequent visits to Vietnam and direct experience in her mother’s restaurant.

The book provided many variations of Pho, which I am looking forward to trying out. While I haven’t yet made any of the recipes, I did read over them and they vary in skill and level of difficulty, which is something I appreciate as a lover of Pho as well as a lover of easy recipes.

I received this book from Ten Speed Press via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

About awindowintobooks

I'm many things. I'm a writer, reader, wife, sister, and daughter. But most of all I'm a citizen of the world.
This entry was posted in Asian cuisine, book review, books, cookbook, cooking, Cuisine, culture, education, history, NetGalley, Pho, Ten Speed Press, Vietnam and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.