More-with-Less Cookbook by Doris Janzen Longacre with Rachel Marie Stone

cover91989-mediumMore-with-Less Cookbook: 40th Anniversary edition by Doris Janzen Longacre with Rachel Marie Stone. The original book was published to provide recipes that help people to eat healthier foods that cost less. The book is based on Mennonite principles. While the book was written 40 years ago, it is still relevant today.

The book says people should consider the food we buy and eat. Some of the foods we should eat are whole grains, fruits, vegetables, legumes and nuts.  Eating out with already prepared foods not only is expensive but also contain unwanted chemicals and ingredients. We should eat form local sources when possible. Throughout the book there are pictures but they show cultures around the world using local foods and resources. I would have liked to see pictures of the recipes.

There are many recipes included. The format for the recipes is different from most recipe books. The recipes combine the ingredients with the steps, which I found nice and saved time and confusion. The recipes are easy to follow and do not require a long time to cook. I enjoyed this cookbook. I look forward to making the recipes.

I give this book 4 out of 5 stars.

I received a copy of this book from Herald Press and NetGalley for an honest review.

About awindowintobooks

I'm many things. I'm a writer, reader, wife, sister, and daughter. But most of all I'm a citizen of the world.
This entry was posted in book review, conservation, cookbook, cooking, culture, Herald Press, mennonite, NetGalley and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.